Weather Forecast

Jeff Sundin, Saturday Medalist 67 (-5)

Sundbom successfully defends Agate City Classic title

Email Sign up for Breaking News Alerts
sports Two Harbors,Minnesota 55616
Sundbom successfully defends Agate City Classic title
Two Harbors Minnesota 109 Waterfront Dr. 55616

Taylor Sundbom shot even par for 27 holes Sunday, Aug. 3, to win the Agate City Classic at Lakeview National Golf Course in Two Harbors by 6 shots over Alex Kolquist.


Sundbom shot a 4-under par on Saturday, but he was 1 stroke behind the leader and medalist Jeff Sundin starting Sunday medal play.

On the first nine holes of the morning, Sundbom had three birdies and only one bogey to card a 34 to take the lead, and Kolquist fired an even par-36 to fall 5 shots behind. Kolquist shot 1-over (37) on the back to Sunbom’s 39 to get within 3 going to the last 9 holes of the day. Sundin had a solid 38 in the windy conditions to remain 4 back after shooting 4-over on the front.

Going birdie-birdie on the par-5 first and par-3 second, Sundbom increased his lead to 6 over Kolquist, who had went par-bogey on the same two holes. Sundin, who started par-par, birdied the third hole to get within 5 of Sundbom, and in second place over Kolquist by a stroke. The lead was down to 3 when Sundbom bogeyed the par-4 No. 5 and Sundin made par. A bogey by Sundin on the long par-4 No. 7 gave Sundbom a 4-shot lead going into the last two holes. With an unfortunate double bogey on the 27th hole of the day, Sundin allowed Kolquist to move into second place with a par, 6 strokes behind the winner, Sundbom, who had pars on the last four holes for a 1-under (35).

Championship Flight results (45 holes, par-180)

Taylor Sundbom - 176

Alex Kolquist - 182

Jeff Sundin - 183

Casey Salakka - 183

Dave Isaacson - 186

Jarrod Chartier - 187

Paul Schintz - 189

Dan Conley - 192

Bruce Hegland - 195

Steve Stojevich - 195

Corey Colton - 196

Match Play Flights:

First Flight — (Winner) Andy Westergren; (Runner-up) Mark Hegland; (Consolation winner) Erik Magnuson and Tony Battistini (tie).

2nd Flight — (Winner) Bob Johansen; (Runner-up) Chad Johnson; (Consolation winner) Rod Martinson.

3rd Flight — (Winner) Kyle Ness; (Runner-up) Andy Aug; (Consolation winner) Scott Mathias.

4th Flight — (Winner) Jeff Campe; (Runner-up) Ted Dallos; (Consolation winner) Dave Stanko.

5th Flight — (Winner) Jim Kronenberger; (Runner-up) Warren Miller; (Consolation winner) Bruce Moseng.